List of Chief Ministers of Odisha

  • 13 September, 2023
  • By GyanOK

Select Language

List of all the Chief Ministers of Odisha State

Chief Ministers serve as the pillars of a state's governance and progress. They bear the critical responsibility of steering their regions toward prosperity, maintaining law and order, and representing the people's aspirations. Understanding the lineage of chief ministers in a state is fundamental to comprehending its political history. To shed light on this vital aspect, we've meticulously compiled a comprehensive list of all the Chief Ministers of Odisha, shedding light on their contributions and leadership. Furthermore, we invite you to test your knowledge with a quiz at the conclusion of this article. It's a valuable opportunity to delve into Odisha's dynamic political landscape and gain insights into the leaders who have shaped its destiny.

List of Chief Ministers of Odisha

Odisha, situated on the eastern coast of India, is a state of captivating beauty and rich cultural heritage. Its uniqueness lies in its diverse landscapes, ancient temples, and a vibrant tapestry of traditions. Often referred to as the "Soul of India," Odisha boasts a rich blend of natural wonders and cultural treasures.

The state's coastline stretches along the Bay of Bengal, featuring pristine beaches, serene lakes, and lush green forests. The Sun Temple at Konark, the Jagannath Temple in Puri, and the ancient caves of Udayagiri and Khandagiri stand as testaments to Odisha's architectural grandeur and historical significance. Its diverse communities, each with its own languages, festivals, and traditions, contribute to the state's rich cultural mosaic.

Odisha's progress and development have been significantly influenced by its Chief Ministers. Leaders like Biju Patnaik, Naveen Patnaik, and J.B. Patnaik have played pivotal roles in steering the state toward political stability and economic growth.

Biju Patnaik, known as the "Lion of Odisha," laid the foundation for modern Odisha and spearheaded the Green Revolution. Naveen Patnaik, the longest-serving Chief Minister, focused on disaster management, infrastructure development, and women's empowerment. J.B. Patnaik's tenure saw initiatives in education and rural development.

These leaders have not only addressed political and economic challenges but have also worked to preserve and promote the state's rich cultural heritage. Their efforts have contributed to Odisha's growth as a culturally vibrant state, a hub for art and culture, and an emerging tourism destination while maintaining its unique identity.

Following we have mentioned a table including all the Chief Ministers of Odisha state. 

Sl.No Chief Minister From To Party Name
1 Naveen Patnaik 29 May 2019 Present Biju Janata Dal
2 Naveen Patnaik 21 May 2014 29 May 2019 Biju Janata Dal
3 Naveen Patnaik 21 May 2009 21 May 2014 Biju Janata Dal
4 Naveen Patnaik 16 May 2004 21 May 2009 Biju Janata Dal
5 Naveen Patnaik 05 Mar 2000 16 May 2004 Biju Janata Dal
6 Hemananda Biswal 17 Feb 1999 06 Dec 1999 INC
7 Giridhar Gamang 15 Mar 1995 17 Feb 1999 INC
8 Janaki Ballabh Patnaik 15 Mar 1995 15 Mar 1995 INC
9 Biju Patnaik 05 Mar 1990 15 Mar 1995 Janata Dal
10 Hemananda Biswal 07 Dec 1989 05 Mar 1990 INC
11 Janaki Ballabh Patnaik 10 Mar 1985 07 Dec 1989 INC
12 Janaki Ballabh Patnaik 09 Jun 1980 10 Mar 1985 INC
13 President's rule 17 Feb 1980 09 Jun 1980  
14 Nilamani Routray 26 Jun 1977 17 Feb 1980 Janata Party
15 President's rule 30 Apr 1977 26 Jun 1977  
16 Binayak Acharya 29 Dec 1976 30 Apr 1977 INC
17 President's rule 16 Dec 1976 29 Dec 1976  
18 Nandini Satpathy 06 Mar 1974 16 Dec 1976 INC
19 President's rule 03 Mar 1973 06 Mar 1974  
20 Nandini Satpathy 14 Jun 1972 03 Mar 1973 INC
21 Biswanath Das 03 Apr 1971 14 Jun 1972 Independent
22 President's rule 11 Jan 1971 03 Apr 1971  
23 Rajendra Narayan Singh Deo 08 Mar 1967 09 Jan 1971 Swatantra Party
24 Sadashiva Tripathy 21 Feb 1965 08 Mar 1967 INC
25 Biren Mitra 02 Oct 1963 21 Feb 1965 INC
26 Biju Patnaik 23 Jun 1961 02 Oct 1963 INC
27 President's rule 25 Feb 1961 23 Jun 1961  
28 Harekrushna Mahatab 22 May 1959 25 Feb 1961 INC
29 Harekrushna Mahatab 06 Apr 1957 22 May 1959 INC
30 Harekrushna Mahatab 19 Oct 1956 06 Apr 1957 INC
31 Nabakrushna Choudhury 20 Feb 1952 19 Oct 1956 INC
32 Nabakrushna Choudhury 12 May 1950 20 Feb 1952 INC
33 Harekrushna Mahatab 23 Apr 1946 12 May 1950 INC

Quiz on Chief Ministers of Odisha 

Embark on an enthralling journey through Odisha's political legacy with our expertly curated quizzes on the Chief Ministers of this culturally rich state. These quizzes are not just assessments of knowledge; they are captivating expeditions into the lives and times of the leaders who have left an indelible mark on Odisha's history. From Biju Patnaik's charismatic leadership to Naveen Patnaik's enduring tenure and J.B. Patnaik's transformative initiatives, these quizzes will immerse you in the stories, challenges, and accomplishments that have shaped Odisha's destiny. Join us in celebrating the leaders who have guided this state toward progress and test your understanding of this captivating political landscape along the way.


play quiz