List of Chief Ministers of Nagaland

  • 13 September, 2023
  • By GyanOK

Select Language

List of all the Chief Ministers of Nagaland

Chief Ministers play an indispensable role in the governance and development of a state. They are the chief executives entrusted with the responsibility of leading their regions towards prosperity, maintaining law and order, and representing the aspirations of the people. Understanding the lineage of chief ministers in a state is fundamental to comprehending its political history. To shed light on this crucial aspect, we have meticulously compiled a comprehensive list of all the Chief Ministers of Nagaland, highlighting their contributions and leadership. Furthermore, we invite you to test your knowledge with a quiz at the conclusion of this article. It's a valuable opportunity to delve into Nagaland's dynamic political landscape and gain insights into the leaders who have shaped its destiny.

List of Chief Ministers of Nagaland

Nagaland, nestled in the northeastern part of India, is a state of breathtaking beauty and cultural diversity. Its uniqueness lies in its stunning landscapes, rich cultural heritage, and the vibrant traditions of its indigenous tribes. Often referred to as the "Land of Festivals," Nagaland showcases a remarkable blend of natural splendor and cultural richness.

The state is blessed with lush green hills, dense forests, gushing rivers, and picturesque villages that offer a serene retreat for nature enthusiasts. The Naga tribes, each with its distinct languages, customs, and vibrant festivals, contribute to Nagaland's rich cultural mosaic. The Hornbill Festival, a celebration of Naga culture, is a testament to the state's deep-rooted traditions.

Nagaland's progress and development have been significantly shaped by its Chief Ministers. Leaders like P. Shilu Ao, Neiphiu Rio, and T.R. Zeliang have played pivotal roles in steering the state toward political stability and economic growth.

P. Shilu Ao, the first Chief Minister, laid the foundation for governance in the newly formed state. Neiphiu Rio's leadership saw a focus on infrastructure development and improving healthcare and education. T.R. Zeliang, in his tenure, emphasized rural development and social welfare.

These leaders have not only addressed political and economic challenges but have also worked tirelessly to preserve and promote the state's rich cultural heritage. Their efforts have contributed to Nagaland's growth as a culturally vibrant state and an emerging tourism destination while maintaining its unique identity.

Following we have mentioned a table including all the Chief Ministers of Nagaland state. 

Sl.No Chief Minister From To Party Name
1 Neiphiu Rio 08 Mar 2018 Present Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party
2 T. R. Zeliang 19 Jul 2017 08 Mar 2018 Nagaland People's Front
3 Shurhozelie Liezietsu 22 Feb 2017 22 Feb 2017 Nagaland People's Front
4 T. R. Zeliang 24 May 2014 22 Feb 2017 Nagaland People's Front
5 Neiphiu Rio 12 Mar 2008 24 May 2014 Nagaland People's Front
6 President's rule 03 Jan 2008 12 Mar 2008  
7 Neiphiu Rio 06 Mar 2003 03 Jan 2008 Nagaland People's Front
8 S. C. Jamir 22 Feb 1993 06 Mar 2003 INC
9 President's rule 02 Apr 1992 22 Feb 1993  
10 Vamuzo Phesao 19 Jun 1990 02 Apr 1992 Nagaland People's Council
11 K. L. Chishi 16 May 1990 19 Jun 1990 INC
12 S. C. Jamir 25 Jan 1989 10 May 1990 INC
13 President's rule 07 Aug 1988 25 Jan 1989  
14 Hokishe Sema 29 Oct 1986 07 Aug 1988  
15 S. C. Jamir 18 Nov 1982 28 Oct 1986 United Democratic Front
16 John Bosco Jasokie 05 Jun 1980 18 Nov 1982 Naga National Democratic Party
17 S. C. Jamir 18 Apr 1980 05 Jun 1980 United Democratic Front—Progressive
18 Vizol Angami 25 Nov 1977 18 Apr 1980 United Democratic Front
19 President's rule 20 Mar 1975 25 Nov 1977  
20 John Bosco Jasokie 10 Mar 1975 20 Mar 1975 Naga National Democratic Party
21 Vizol Angami 26 Feb 1974 10 Mar 1975 United Democratic Front
22 Hokishe Sema 22 Feb 1969 26 Feb 1974 Naga Nationalist Organisation
23 T. N. Angami 14 Aug 1966 22 Feb 1969 Naga Nationalist Organisation
24 P. Shilu Ao 01 Dec 1963 14 Aug 1966 Naga Nationalist Organisation

Quiz on Chief Ministers of Nagaland

Embark on a riveting journey through the corridors of power in Nagaland with our meticulously curated quizzes on the Chief Ministers of this culturally rich state. These quizzes are more than just tests of knowledge; they are captivating odysseys into the lives and times of the leaders who have left an indelible mark on Nagaland's history. From the pioneering days of P. Shilu Ao to the transformative leadership of Neiphiu Rio and the contemporary initiatives under T.R. Zeliang, these quizzes will immerse you in the stories, challenges, and accomplishments that have shaped Nagaland's destiny. Join us in celebrating the leaders who have guided this state toward progress and test your understanding of this captivating political landscape along the way.



play quiz