List of Chief Ministers of Manipur

  • 13 September, 2023
  • By GyanOK

Select Language

List of all the Chief Ministers of Manipur State

Chief Ministers are the linchpin of a state's administration and development. They shoulder the immense responsibility of governing, ensuring public welfare, and driving progress. Understanding the lineage of chief ministers in a state is crucial to grasp its political history. To shed light on this, we've meticulously compiled a comprehensive list of all the Chief Ministers of Manipur, highlighting their contributions and leadership. Moreover, we invite you to test your knowledge with a quiz at the end of this article. It's a valuable opportunity to delve into Manipur's dynamic political landscape and gain insights into the leaders who have guided its destiny.

List of Chief Ministers of Manipur

Manipur, nestled in the northeastern part of India, is a state of enchanting beauty and cultural diversity. Its allure lies in its breathtaking landscapes, rich cultural heritage, and a vibrant tapestry of traditions. Manipur is often referred to as the "Jewel of India" for its unparalleled natural beauty.

The state is blessed with lush green valleys, pristine lakes, and rolling hills that come alive with a riot of colors during the annual Sangai Festival. Loktak Lake, with its floating islands, stands as a unique natural wonder. Manipur's diverse ethnic communities, each with its own language and customs, create a rich mosaic of cultures. The traditional dance forms like Manipuri Ras Leela are not just art but a way of life.

The history and progress of Manipur have been significantly influenced by its Chief Ministers. Leaders like Rishang Keishing, Okram Ibobi Singh, and N. Biren Singh have played pivotal roles in shaping the state's political landscape and driving economic growth.

Rishang Keishing, Manipur's first Chief Minister, laid the groundwork for the state's governance and development. Okram Ibobi Singh focused on infrastructure development and improving healthcare and education. N. Biren Singh, the incumbent Chief Minister, has prioritized issues like sports and tourism, furthering the state's growth.

These leaders have not only addressed political and economic challenges but have also worked to preserve and promote the state's cultural heritage. Their efforts have contributed to Manipur's growth as a culturally rich and economically promising state, while maintaining its unique identity.

Following we have mentioned a table including all the Chief Ministers of Manipur state.

Sl.No Chief Minister From To Party Name
1 Nongthombam Biren Singh 21 Mar 2022 Present BJP
2 Nongthombam Biren Singh 15 Mar 2017 21 Mar 2022 BJP
3 Okram Ibobi Singh 06 Mar 2012 14 Mar 2017 INC
4 Okram Ibobi Singh 02 Mar 2007 05 Mar 2012 INC
5 Okram Ibobi Singh 07 Mar 2002 01 Mar 2007 INC
6 President's rule 02 Jun 2001 06 Mar 2002  
7 Radhabinod Koijam 15 Feb 2001 01 Jun 2001 Samata Party
8 Wahengbam Nipamacha Singh 16 Dec 1997 14 Feb 2001 Manipur State Congress Party
9 Rishang Keishing 14 Dec 1994 15 Dec 1997 INC
10 President's rule 31 Dec 1993 13 Dec 1994  
11 Raj Kumar Dorendra Singh 08 Apr 1992 10 Apr 1993 INC
12 President's rule 07 Jan 1992 07 Apr 1992  
13 Raj Kumar Ranbir Singh 23 Feb 1990 06 Jan 1992 Manipur Peoples Party
14 Raj Kumar Jaichandra Singh 04 Mar 1988 22 Feb 1990 INC
15 Rishang Keishing 19 Jun 1981 03 Mar 1988 INC
16 President's rule 28 Feb 1981 18 Jun 1981  
17 Rishang Keishing 27 Nov 1980 27 Feb 1981 INC
18 Raj Kumar Dorendra Singh 14 Jan 1980 26 Nov 1980 INC
19 President's rule 14 Nov 1979 13 Jan 1980  
20 Yangmasho Shaiza 29 Jun 1977 13 Nov 1979 Janata Party
21 President's rule 16 May 1977 28 Jun 1977  
22 Raj Kumar Dorendra Singh 06 Dec 1974 15 May 1977 INC
23 Yangmasho Shaiza 10 Jul 1974 05 Dec 1974 Manipur Hills Union
24 Mohammed Alimuddin 04 Mar 1974 09 Jul 1974 Manipur Peoples Party
25 President's rule 28 Mar 1973 03 Mar 1974  
26 Mohammed Alimuddin 23 Mar 1972 27 Mar 1973 Manipur Peoples Party
27 President's rule 17 Oct 1969 22 Mar 1972  
28 Mairembam Koireng Singh 19 Feb 1968 16 Oct 1969 INC
29 President's rule 25 Oct 1967 18 Feb 1968  
30 Longjam Thambou Singh 13 Oct 1967 24 Oct 1967 Manipur United Front
31 Mairembam Koireng Singh 20 Mar 1967 04 Oct 1967 INC
32 President's rule 12 Jan 1967 19 Mar 1967  
33 Mairembam Koireng Singh 01 Jul 1963 11 Jan 1967 INC

Quiz on Chief Ministers of Manipur 

Unlock the vibrant political history of Manipur with our engaging quizzes on the Chief Ministers who have steered the state's destiny. These quizzes offer more than just a test of knowledge; they invite you on an enlightening journey through Manipur's governance. From the pioneering days of Rishang Keishing to the transformative leadership of Okram Ibobi Singh and the contemporary initiatives of N. Biren Singh, these quizzes unveil the dynamic tapestry of Manipur's political landscape. Dive into the stories, the challenges, and the triumphs that have shaped this culturally rich state. Celebrate the leaders who have guided Manipur toward progress, and embark on this fascinating quiz to deepen your understanding of its political heritage.


play quiz