List of Chief Ministers of Rajasthan

  • 13 September, 2023
  • By GyanOK

Select Language

List of all the Chief Ministers of Rajasthan

Chief Ministers are the backbone of a state's governance and progress. They shoulder the immense responsibility of leading, governing, and representing the people. Understanding the lineage of chief ministers in a state is pivotal to grasp its political history. To shed light on this aspect, we've meticulously compiled a comprehensive list of all the Chief Ministers of Rajasthan, showcasing their contributions and leadership. Furthermore, we invite you to test your knowledge with a quiz at the end of this article. It's a valuable opportunity to delve into Rajasthan's dynamic political landscape and gain insights into the leaders who have shaped its destiny.

List of Chief Ministers of Rajasthan

Rajasthan, often referred to as the "Land of Kings," is a state of regal beauty and cultural richness. Nestled in the northwestern part of India, its uniqueness lies in its majestic landscapes, ancient forts, and a vibrant tapestry of traditions. Rajasthan is a living testament to India's royal history and heritage.

The state is adorned with sprawling deserts, dramatic sand dunes, grand palaces, and ornate havelis, creating a landscape that exudes grandeur and charm. The Amber Fort in Jaipur, the Mehrangarh Fort in Jodhpur, and the City Palace in Udaipur are architectural marvels that stand as reminders of Rajasthan's royal legacy. Its diverse communities, each with its own languages, folk music, and dance forms, contribute to the state's rich cultural tapestry.

The progress and development of Rajasthan have been significantly shaped by its Chief Ministers. Leaders like Bhairon Singh Shekhawat, Ashok Gehlot, and Vasundhara Raje have played pivotal roles in steering the state toward political stability and economic growth.

Bhairon Singh Shekhawat, a charismatic leader, emphasized agricultural reforms and rural development. Ashok Gehlot focused on social welfare, education, and healthcare. Vasundhara Raje's tenure saw initiatives in infrastructure development and tourism promotion.

These leaders have not only addressed political and economic challenges but have also worked to preserve and promote the state's rich cultural heritage. Their efforts have contributed to Rajasthan's growth as a tourist haven, an emerging industrial hub, and a keeper of India's royal legacy, all while maintaining its unique identity.

Following we have mentioned a table including all the Chief Ministers of Rajasthan state.

Sl.No Chief Minister From To Party Name
1 Ashok Gehlot 17 Dec 2018 Present INC
2 Vasundhara Raje Scindia 13 Dec 2013 16 Dec 2018 BJP
3 Ashok Gehlot 12 Dec 2008 13 Dec 2013 INC
4 Vasundhara Raje Scindia 08 Dec 2003 11 Dec 2008 BJP
5 Ashok Gehlot 01 Dec 1998 08 Dec 2003 INC
6 Bhairon Singh Shekhawat 04 Dec 1993 29 Nov 1998 BJP
7 President's rule 15 Dec 1992 04 Dec 1993  
8 Bhairon Singh Shekhawat 04 Mar 1990 15 Dec 1992 BJP
9 Hari Dev Joshi 04 Dec 1989 04 Mar 1990 INC
10 Shiv Charan Mathur 20 Jan 1988 04 Dec 1989 INC
11 Hari Dev Joshi 10 Mar 1985 20 Jan 1988 INC
12 Hira Lal Devpura 23 Feb 1985 10 Mar 1985 INC
13 Shiv Charan Mathur 14 Jul 1981 23 Feb 1985 INC
14 Jagannath Pahadia 06 Jun 1980 13 Jul 1981 INC
15 Bhairon Singh Shekhawat 22 Jun 1977 16 Feb 1980 JP
16 President's rule 29 Apr 1977 22 Jun 1977  
17 Hari Dev Joshi 11 Aug 1973 29 Apr 1977 INC
18 Barkatullah Khan 09 Jul 1971 11 Aug 1973 INC
19 Mohan Lal Sukhadia 26 Apr 1967 09 Jul 1971 INC
20 President's rule 13 Mar 1967 26 Apr 1967  
21 Mohan Lal Sukhadia 12 Mar 1962 13 Mar 1967 INC
22 Mohan Lal Sukhadia 11 Apr 1957 11 Mar 1962 INC
23 Mohan Lal Sukhadia 13 Nov 1954 11 Apr 1957 INC
24 Jai Narayan Vyas 01 Nov 1952 12 Nov 1954 INC
25 Tika Ram Paliwal 03 Mar 1952 31 Oct 1952 INC
26 Jai Narayan Vyas 26 Apr 1951 03 Mar 1952 INC
27 C S Venkatachari 06 Jan 1951 25 Apr 1951 INC
28 Heera Lal Shastri 07 Apr 1949 05 Jan 1951 INC

Quiz on Chief Ministers of Rajasthan 

Embark on a captivating journey through the corridors of power in Rajasthan with our expertly crafted quizzes on the Chief Ministers of this regal state. These quizzes are more than just tests of knowledge; they are immersive voyages into the lives and times of the leaders who have etched their names in Rajasthan's history. From the charismatic Bhairon Singh Shekhawat to the sagacious Ashok Gehlot and the dynamic Vasundhara Raje, these quizzes will transport you through the annals of Rajasthan's governance. Delve into the stories, challenges, and triumphs that have shaped the state's destiny. Join us in celebrating the leaders who have guided Rajasthan toward progress and test your understanding of this captivating political landscape along the way.


play quiz