List of Chief Ministers of Kerala

  • 03 September, 2023
  • By GyanOK

Select Language

List of all the Chief Ministers of Kerala

Chief Ministers are the backbone of a country's administration, playing a pivotal role in its functioning. They drive policies, make critical decisions, and steer progress. Over time, various Chief Ministers have left indelible marks on their states, each contributing uniquely to their development. From Kerala's reformist Chief Ministers who championed education and social welfare to those who focused on economic growth through sustainable initiatives, these leaders have shaped the state's landscape. Understanding their role unveils the essence of effective governance. In this article, we provide an all-encompassing list of Chief Ministers of Kerala, accompanied by an engaging quiz. This quiz not only lets you delve into Kerala's political history but also tests your awareness of their transformative contributions. Dive in to explore the indispensable role of Chief Ministers and their impact on the trajectory of their respective states.

List of Chief Ministers of Kerala

Nestled along India's southwestern coast, Kerala is a land of breathtaking beauty, cultural diversity, and unparalleled uniqueness. Its importance extends beyond its enchanting landscapes, as it holds a special place in India's rich tapestry for various compelling reasons.

Firstly, Kerala boasts an exceptional literacy rate and commitment to education. The state's emphasis on learning has earned it the title of "God's Own Country," not only for its natural beauty but also for its intellectual prowess. Its esteemed institutions and educated populace underline the significance of education in nurturing progressive minds.

Secondly, Kerala's healthcare system stands as a model for the entire nation. The state's emphasis on public health and well-being has led to notable achievements in healthcare indices. Its success story in handling healthcare challenges sets an example for others to follow.

Furthermore, Kerala's cultural diversity is truly captivating. It celebrates a harmonious blend of various traditions, festivals, and art forms. The state's vibrant Onam festival, marked by elaborate feasts and cultural events, showcases its unity in diversity.

Following we have mentioned a table including all the Chief Ministers of Kerala state 

Sl.No Chief Minister From To Party Name
1 Pinarayi Vijayan 20 May 2021 Present Communist Party of India (Marxist)
2 Pinarayi Vijayan 25 May 2016 19 May 2021 Communist Party of India (Marxist)
3 Oommen Chandy 18 May 2011 20 May 2016 INC
4 V. S. Achuthanandan 18 May 2006 14 May 2011 Communist Party of India (Marxist)
5 Oommen Chandy 31 Aug 2004 12 May 2006 INC
6 A. K. Antony 17 May 2001 29 Aug 2004 INC
7 E. K. Nayanar 20 May 1996 13 May 2001 Communist Party of India (Marxist)
8 A. K. Antony 22 Mar 1995 09 May 1996 INC
9 K. Karunakaran 24 Jun 1991 16 Mar 1995 INC
10 E. K. Nayanar 26 Mar 1987 17 Jun 1991 Communist Party of India (Marxist)
11 K. Karunakaran 24 May 1982 25 Mar 1987 Indian National Congress
12 President's rule 17 Mar 1982 23 May 1982 N/A
13 K. Karunakaran 28 Dec 1981 17 Mar 1982 INC
14 President's rule 21 Oct 1981 28 Dec 1981 N/A
15 E. K. Nayanar 25 Jan 1980 20 Oct 1981 Communist Party of India (Marxist)
16 President's rule 05 Dec 1979 25 Jan 1980 N/A
17 C. H. Mohammed Koya 12 Oct 1979 01 Dec 1979 Indian Union Muslim League
18 P. K. Vasudevan Nair 29 Oct 1978 07 Oct 1979 Communist Party of India
19 A. K. Antony 27 Apr 1977 27 Oct 1978 INC
20 K. Karunakaran 25 Mar 1977 25 Apr 1977 INC
21 C. Achutha Menon 04 Oct 1970 25 Mar 1977 Communist Party of India
22 President's rule 04 Aug 1970 03 Oct 1970 N/A
23 C. Achutha Menon 01 Nov 1969 01 Aug 1970 Communist Party of India
24 E. M. S. Namboodiripad 06 Mar 1967 01 Nov 1969 Communist Party of India (Marxist)
25 President's rule 25 Mar 1965 06 Mar 1967 N/A
26 President's rule 10 Sep 1964 25 Mar 1965 N/A
27 R. Sankar 26 Sep 1962 10 Sep 1964 Indian National Congress
28 Pattom A. Thanu Pillai 22 Feb 1960 26 Sep 1962 Praja Socialist Party
29 President's rule 31 Jul 1959 22 Feb 1960 N/A
30 E. M. S. Namboodiripad 05 Apr 1957 31 Jul 1959 Communist Party of India
31 President's rule 01 Nov 1956 05 Apr 1957 N/A

Quiz on Chief Ministers of Kerala

Embark on an enthralling journey through Kerala's political history with our exclusive Chief Ministers Quiz! Immerse yourself in the stories of visionary leaders who have shaped the state's trajectory. Whether you're a history enthusiast, a curious learner, or someone up for a challenge, this quiz is tailor-made for you. Test your knowledge with thought-provoking questions and uncover the impactful decisions that have molded Kerala. Whether you aim to become a Kerala politics aficionado among your peers or seek an enjoyable way to spend your time, this quiz guarantees both entertainment and insight. Don't miss this chance to explore Kerala's political landscape and showcase your expertise!


play quiz