List of Chief Ministers of Jharkhand

  • 13 September, 2023
  • By GyanOK

Select Language

List of all the Chief Ministers of Jharkhand State

Chief Ministers play a pivotal role in the governance and development of a state. They are the leaders responsible for steering their regions towards progress, ensuring law and order, and representing the voice of the people. In this context, understanding the history of chief ministers in each state becomes crucial. To shed light on this aspect, we have curated a comprehensive list of all the Chief Ministers of Jharkhand, showcasing their contributions and leadership. Moreover, we invite you to test your knowledge with a quiz at the end of this article. It's a valuable opportunity to learn more about the dynamic political landscape of Jharkhand and the leaders who have shaped its destiny.

List of Chief Ministers of Jharkhand 

Jharkhand, often referred to as the "Land of Forests," is a state of enchanting beauty and cultural richness. Nestled in the eastern part of India, it boasts diverse landscapes that range from lush green forests to rolling hills, winding rivers, and serene plateaus. Its uniqueness lies in its tribal heritage, dense forests, and a captivating blend of tradition and modernity.

The state is home to several indigenous tribes, each with its own languages, customs, and folklore. Jharkhand's vibrant culture finds expression in its traditional music, dance, and art forms, making it a treasure trove of ethnic diversity. The annual Sarhul festival, dedicated to nature worship, is a testament to the state's deep-rooted connection with its natural surroundings.

The progress and development of Jharkhand have been significantly shaped by its Chief Ministers. Leaders like Babulal Marandi, Arjun Munda, and Hemant Soren have played pivotal roles in steering the state toward economic growth and political stability.

Babulal Marandi, the first Chief Minister of Jharkhand, laid the foundation for the state's administration and governance. Arjun Munda's leadership focused on infrastructure development and improving tribal welfare. Hemant Soren, the incumbent Chief Minister, has prioritized inclusive growth, rural development, and social welfare.

These leaders have not only addressed political and economic challenges but have also worked tirelessly to preserve and promote the state's tribal heritage and cultural diversity. Their efforts have contributed to Jharkhand's growth as an emerging industrial and agricultural hub while maintaining its unique identity.

Following we have mentioned a table including all the Chief Ministers of Jharkhand state.

Sl.No Chief Minister From To Party Name
1 Hemant Soren 29 Dec 2019 Present Jharkhand Mukti Morcha
2 Raghubar Das 28 Dec 2014 29 Dec 2019 BJP
3 Hemant Soren 13 Jul 2013 28 Dec 2014 Jharkhand Mukti Morcha
4 President's rule 18 Jan 2013 12 Jul 2013 N/A
5 Arjun Munda 11 Sep 2010 18 Jan 2013 BJP
6 President's rule 19 Jan 2009 29 Dec 2009 N/A
7 Shibu Soren 27 Aug 2008 18 Jan 2009 Jharkhand Mukti Morcha
8 Madhu Koda 14 Sep 2006 23 Aug 2008 Independent
9 Arjun Munda 12 Mar 2005 14 Sep 2006 BJP
10 Shibu Soren 02 Mar 2005 12 Mar 2005 Jharkhand Mukti Morcha
11 Arjun Munda 18 Mar 2003 02 Mar 2005 BJP
12 Babulal Marandi 15 Nov 2000 17 Mar 2003 BJP

Quiz on Chief Ministers of Jharkhand 

Unveil the political tapestry of Jharkhand with our expertly curated quizzes on the Chief Ministers of this culturally rich state. These quizzes are more than just a test of your knowledge; they are a captivating journey through the annals of Jharkhand's governance. From the trailblazing tenure of Babulal Marandi to Arjun Munda's transformative leadership and Hemant Soren's contemporary initiatives, these quizzes will transport you through the corridors of power. Delve into the stories, challenges, and triumphs that have shaped Jharkhand's destiny. Join us in celebrating the leaders who have guided this state towards progress and test your understanding along the way.


play quiz