List of Chief Ministers of Himachal Pradesh

  • 03 September, 2023
  • By GyanOK

Select Language

List of all the Chief Ministers of Himachal Pradesh State

Chief Ministers play a crucial role in governing a state effectively. They make important decisions about education, healthcare, infrastructure, and more, which impact everyone living in the state. Their leadership is essential for the state's growth and development. In the context of Himachal Pradesh, Chief Ministers have significantly contributed to the state's progress. This article provides a comprehensive list of these leaders, starting from the first one, Yashwant Singh Parmar. It offers insights into their contributions and leadership journeys, serving as a historical account of Himachal Pradesh's governance. Furthermore, the article concludes by inviting readers to explore this list and test their knowledge through an accompanying quiz, offering an engaging way to learn more about the state's leadership history.

List of Chief Ministers of Himachal Pradesh 

Himachal Pradesh is a northern Indian state known for its breathtaking landscapes, mountains, and vibrant culture. It operates as a democratic state, which means that its people have the power to choose their leaders through elections. The state's democracy is built on the idea that the citizens' voices matter, and they have the right to decide who will lead and make important decisions for the state.

Over the years, Himachal Pradesh has had several Chief Ministers, who are like the leaders of the state. These Chief Ministers have played a significant role in shaping the state's development and progress. They have made changes in various ways, such as improving education, healthcare, roads, and infrastructure. Some Chief Ministers focused on boosting tourism, which has contributed to the state's economy. Others worked on preserving the local culture and traditions while also promoting modernization.

Each Chief Minister has left their mark on Himachal Pradesh, bringing their own ideas and strategies to make the state a better place to live. From Yashwant Singh Parmar, the first Chief Minister, to the present leaders, each one has contributed to the state's growth in their unique way. Himachal Pradesh's democratic system allows for the peaceful transition of power, ensuring that different leaders get a chance to make positive changes for the state and its people.

Following we have listed Chief Ministers of Himachal Pradesh in a tabular format

Name of Chief Minister Constituency Term Start Term End Tenure Length Assembly Election Party
Yashwant Singh Parmar Shri Renukaji 25 Jan 1971 10 Mar 1972 6 years, 3 days 2nd (1967) Indian National Congress
    10 Mar 1972 28 Jan 1977   3rd (1972)  
Thakur Ram Lal Jubbal-Kotkhai 28 Jan 1977 30 Apr 1977 92 days    
Shanta Kumar Sullah 22 Jun 1977 14 Feb 1980 2 years, 237 days 4th (1977) Janata Party
Thakur Ram Lal Jubbal-Kotkhai 14 Feb 1980 15 Jun 1982 3 years, 53 days 5th (1982) Indian National Congress
Virbhadra Singh Jubbal-Kotkhai 8 Apr 1983 8 Mar 1985 6 years, 331 days 6th (1985) Indian National Congress
Shanta Kumar Palampur 5 Mar 1990 15 Dec 1992 2 years, 285 days 7th (1990) Bharatiya Janata Party
Virbhadra Singh Rohru 3 Dec 1993 24 Mar 1998 4 years, 111 days 8th (1993) Indian National Congress
Prem Kumar Dhumal Bamsan 24 Mar 1998 6 Mar 2003 4 years, 347 days 9th (1998) Bharatiya Janata Party
Virbhadra Singh Rohru 6 Mar 2003 30 Dec 2007 4 years, 299 days 10th (2003) Indian National Congress
Prem Kumar Dhumal Bamsan 30 Dec 2007 25 Dec 2012 4 years, 361 days 11th (2007) Bharatiya Janata Party
Virbhadra Singh Shimla Rural 25 Dec 2012 27 Dec 2017 5 years, 2 days 12th (2012) Indian National Congress
Jai Ram Thakur Seraj 27 Dec 2017 11 Dec 2022 4 years, 349 days 13th (2017) Bharatiya Janata Party
Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu Nadaun 11 Dec 2022 Incumbent 252 days 14th (2022) Indian National Congress

Quiz on Chief Minister's of Himachal Pradesh 

Dive into the fascinating journey of Himachal Pradesh's leadership by exploring the dynamic list of chief ministers. Discover the remarkable figures who have shaped the state's course over the years. To test your knowledge and learn more about the rich history of Himachal Pradesh's governance, take the engaging quiz provided below. Uncover the stories of visionary leaders who have left their mark on the state's development. This quiz offers an exciting opportunity to explore the past, enhance your understanding, and celebrate the spirit of leadership in Himachal Pradesh. Don't miss out on this chance to connect with the state's history in a fun and educational way!



play quiz