List of Chief Ministers of Goa

  • 03 September, 2023
  • By GyanOK

Select Language

List of all the Chief Ministers of Goa

Chief Ministers play a pivotal role in the efficient functioning of a country. They are the driving force behind policy decisions, governance, and overall progress. Throughout history, various Chief Ministers have left indelible marks on their states, each contributing uniquely to their development. From infrastructural development to social welfare initiatives, these leaders have transformed their states' landscapes. Take Goa, for instance, where Chief Ministers have championed tourism, leading to economic growth. Others focused on sustainable development and educational reforms, shaping a better future. Exploring these impactful stories not only provides insights into effective governance but also showcases the power of leadership. In this article, we present a comprehensive list of Chief Ministers of Goa, accompanied by a brief quiz to test your understanding of their contributions. Dive in to understand the vital role of Chief Ministers and their enduring impact on states' progress.

List of Chief Ministers of Goa

Nestled on the western coast of India, Goa is a state of captivating allure, renowned for its stunning beaches, rich history, and vibrant culture. Its importance is not confined to its scenic beauty; Goa holds a distinct place in India's tapestry for various compelling reasons.

Firstly, Goa is a melting pot of cultures. Its history is a fascinating blend of indigenous traditions, colonial influences, and modern dynamism. The state's distinct heritage is visible in its architecture, cuisine, and festivals, offering a unique amalgamation of the old and the new. The legacy of Portuguese colonization has imparted a cosmopolitan charm to its cities, fostering a sense of openness.

Secondly, Goa's tourism magnetism is undeniable. The picturesque beaches, vibrant nightlife, and water sports attract visitors from across the globe. Tourism contributes significantly to the state's economy, generating employment opportunities and fostering cultural exchange. This economic vibrancy empowers local communities and fuels development.

Furthermore, Goa's serene landscapes and diverse ecosystem have earned it the title of a biodiversity hotspot. Its lush greenery, diverse flora, and fauna make it a vital ecological region. Preserving this environment is crucial not only for Goa but also for the planet's ecological balance.

In recent times, Goa has been progressively expanding its horizons. The state has emerged as an educational hub, with esteemed institutions offering diverse courses. The emphasis on education paves the way for intellectual growth and innovation, making Goa a nurturing environment for young minds.

Beyond its physical attributes, Goa stands as a symbol of unity in diversity. People from various backgrounds coexist harmoniously, celebrating their differences and contributing to the state's vibrant cultural fabric. This spirit of coalescence is reflective of India's core values.

Sl.No Chief Minister From To Party Name
1 Pramod Sawant 28 Mar 2022 Present Bharatiya Janata Party
2 Pramod Sawant 19 Mar 2019 27 Mar 2022 Bharatiya Janata Party
3 Manohar Parrikar 14 Mar 2017 17 Mar 2019 Bharatiya Janata Party
4 Laxmikant Parsekar 08 Nov 2014 14 Mar 2017 Bharatiya Janata Party
5 Manohar Parrikar 09 Mar 2012 08 Nov 2014 Bharatiya Janata Party
6 Digambar Kamat 08 Jun 2007 09 Mar 2012 INC
7 Pratapsingh Rane 07 Jun 2005 08 Jun 2007 INC
8 President's rule 04 Mar 2005 07 Jun 2005 N/A
9 Pratapsingh Rane 02 Feb 2005 04 Mar 2005 INC
10 Manohar Parrikar 03 Jun 2002 02 Feb 2005 Bharatiya Janata Party
11 Manohar Parrikar 24 Oct 2000 03 Jun 2002 Bharatiya Janata Party
12 Francisco Sardinha 24 Nov 1999 23 Oct 2000 Goa People's Congress
13 Luizinho Faleiro 09 Jun 1999 24 Nov 1999 INC
14 President's rule 10 Feb 1999 09 Jun 1999 N/A
15 Luizinho Faleiro 26 Nov 1998 08 Feb 1999 INC
16 Wilfred de Souza 29 Jul 1998 23 Nov 1998 Goa Rajiv Congress Party
17 Pratapsingh Rane 16 Dec 1994 29 Jul 1998 INC
18 Wilfred de Souza 08 Apr 1994 16 Dec 1994 INC
19 Ravi S. Naik 02 Apr 1994 08 Apr 1994 INC
20 Wilfred de Souza 18 May 1993 02 Apr 1994 INC
21 Ravi S. Naik 25 Jan 1991 25 Jan 1991 INC
22 President's rule 14 Dec 1990 25 Jan 1991 N/A
23 Luis Proto Barbosa 14 Apr 1990 14 Dec 1990 Progressive Democratic Front
24 Churchill Alemao 27 Mar 1990 14 Apr 1990 Progressive Democratic Front
25 Pratapsingh Rane 09 Jan 1990 27 Mar 1990 INC
26 Pratapsingh Rane 30 May 1987 09 Jan 1990 INC

Quiz on Chief Ministers of Goa 

Embark on an intriguing journey through the political legacy of Goa with our exclusive Chief Ministers Quiz! Immerse yourself in the stories of visionary leaders who have shaped the state's trajectory. Whether you're a history enthusiast, a curious learner, or someone up for a challenge, this quiz is tailor-made for you. Test your knowledge with thought-provoking questions and unravel the impactful decisions that have moulded Goa. Whether you aspire to be a Goa politics aficionado among your peers or simply seeking an enjoyable way to spend your time, this quiz promises both entertainment and insight. Don't miss this chance to explore Goa's political landscape and showcase your expertise!


play quiz