List of Chief Ministers of Delhi

  • 13 September, 2023
  • By GyanOK

Select Language

List of all the Chief Ministers of Delhi

Chief ministers are the linchpins of a state's administration, responsible for policy-making, governance, and development. In Delhi, this pivotal role has been played by a succession of leaders who've steered the state's course. To appreciate their significance, we've compiled an exhaustive list of all the chief ministers of Delhi, providing historical and political context. This list highlights the diversity and evolution of leadership in India's capital.

List of Chief Ministers of Delhi

Delhi, the heart of India, is a captivating state that seamlessly blends history, culture, and modernity. This dynamic region stands out for its unique attributes, and the impact of its chief ministers is integral to its identity.

Delhi's allure lies in its incredible heritage, with iconic landmarks like the Red Fort, Qutub Minar, and Humayun's Tomb tracing back centuries. The city's blend of Mughal, colonial, and contemporary architecture offers a visual feast for enthusiasts. Its rich culinary diversity, from street food to fine dining, is a gastronomic adventure like no other.

The role of chief ministers in shaping Delhi cannot be overstated. Visionary leaders like Sheila Dikshit, who served as Delhi's chief minister for three consecutive terms, focused on urban development, infrastructure, and public welfare. Her tenure saw the transformation of Delhi's skyline with projects like the Delhi Metro, making it a world-class metropolis.

Arvind Kejriwal, the current chief minister, has focused on innovative policies in areas like healthcare and education. His emphasis on quality government schools and accessible healthcare has made Delhi a model for other Indian states to emulate.

Delhi's uniqueness lies in its status as both the national capital territory and a bustling city-state. It serves as the epicentre of political power and decision-making in India, attracting people from diverse backgrounds and cultures.

Following we have mentioned a table including all the Chief Ministers of Delhi state.

Sl.No Chief Minister From To Party Name
1 Arvind Kejriwal 16 Feb 2020 Present Aam Aadmi Party
2 Arvind Kejriwal 14 Feb 2015 15 Feb 2020 Aam Aadmi Party
3 President's rule 14 Feb 2014 14 Feb 2015  
4 Arvind Kejriwal 28 Dec 2013 14 Feb 2014 Aam Aadmi Party
5 Sheila Dikshit 29 Oct 2008 28 Dec 2013 INC
6 Sheila Dikshit 01 Dec 2003 29 Oct 2008 INC
7 Sheila Dikshit 03 Dec 1998 01 Dec 2003 INC
8 Sushma Swaraj 12 Oct 1998 03 Dec 1998 BJP
9 Sahib Singh Verma 26 Feb 1996 12 Oct 1998 BJP
10 Madan Lal Khurana 02 Dec 1993 26 Feb 1996 BJP
11 Gurmukh Nihal Singh 12 Feb 1955 01 Nov 1956 INC
12 Chaudhary Brahm Prakash 17 Mar 1952 12 Feb 1955 INC

Quiz on Chief Ministers of Delhi

Unlock the secrets of Delhi's political legacy with our thoughtfully curated quizzes on the chief ministers who have shaped the capital's destiny. These quizzes are your passport to a captivating journey through the annals of power, where each question unravels the stories of leadership, governance, and the dynamic forces that have left an indelible mark on Delhi's history. 


play quiz