List of Chief ministers of Assam

  • 13 September, 2023
  • By GyanOK

Select Language

List of all the Chief Ministers of Assam

Chief Ministers play a pivotal role in the governance and development of a state. They are the leaders responsible for steering their regions towards progress, ensuring law and order, and representing the voice of the people. In this context, understanding the history of chief ministers in each state becomes crucial. To shed light on this aspect, we have curated a comprehensive list of all the Chief Ministers of Assam, showcasing their contributions and leadership. Moreover, we invite you to test your knowledge with a quiz at the end of this article. It's a valuable opportunity to learn more about the dynamic political landscape of Assam and the leaders who have shaped its destiny.

List of Chief ministers of Assam 

Assam, nestled in the northeastern part of India, is a state of immense beauty and cultural richness. Its uniqueness lies in its diverse landscapes, vibrant traditions, and the confluence of various ethnicities. Assam is blessed with lush tea gardens, the mighty Brahmaputra River, verdant forests, and a plethora of wildlife, making it an ecological marvel.

The state's rich cultural tapestry is woven with the threads of Bihu festivals, traditional Bodo dances, and exquisite silk weaving, notably the Muga and Eri silk. The unique one-horned rhinoceros, found in the Kaziranga National Park, is not only an ecological treasure but also an emblem of Assam's distinct identity.

The history and progress of Assam have been significantly shaped by its Chief Ministers. These leaders have navigated the state through diverse challenges, contributing to its development and identity. Prominent Chief Ministers like Gopinath Bordoloi, Tarun Gogoi, and Sarbananda Sonowal have played pivotal roles in strengthening Assam's political landscape and fostering economic growth.

Gopinath Bordoloi, Assam's first Chief Minister, was instrumental in the state's early post-independence years, laying the foundation for administrative stability and development. Tarun Gogoi, one of the longest-serving Chief Ministers, championed various social and infrastructural initiatives, leaving a lasting impact on the state's progress. Sarbananda Sonowal, the incumbent Chief Minister, has continued to focus on development, infrastructure, and connectivity.

These leaders have not only navigated Assam through political challenges but have also worked towards preserving its cultural diversity and natural heritage. Their efforts have contributed to the state's growth as a significant economic and cultural hub in the northeastern region.

Following we have mentioned a table including all the Chief Ministers of the Assam  state. 

Sl.No Chief Minister From To Party Name
1 Himanta Biswa Sarma 10 May 2021 Present BJP
2 Sarbananda Sonowal 24 May 2016 10 May 2021 BJP
3 Tarun Gogoi 17 May 2001 24 May 2016 INC
4 Prafulla Kumar Mahanta 15 May 1996 17 May 2001 Asom Gana Parishad
5 Bhumidhar Barman 22 Apr 1996 14 May 1996 INC
6 Hiteswar Saikia 30 Jun 1991 22 Apr 1996 INC
7 President's rule 28 Nov 1990 30 Jun 1991 N/A
8 Prafulla Kumar Mahanta 24 Dec 1985 28 Nov 1990 Asom Gana Parishad
9 Hiteswar Saikia 27 Feb 1983 23 Dec 1985 INC
10 President's rule 19 Mar 1982 27 Feb 1983 N/A
11 Kesab Chandra Gogoi 13 Jan 1982 19 Mar 1982 INC
12 President's rule 30 Jun 1981 13 Jan 1982 N/A
13 Anwara Taimur 06 Dec 1980 30 Jun 1981 INC
14 President's rule 12 Dec 1979 05 Dec 1980 N/A
15 Jogendra Nath Hazarika 09 Sep 1979 11 Dec 1979 Janata Party
16 Golap Borbora 12 Mar 1978 04 Sep 1979 Janata Party
17 Sarat Chandra Sinha 31 Jan 1972 12 Mar 1978 INC
18 Mahendra Mohan Choudhry 11 Nov 1970 30 Jan 1972 INC
19 Bimala Prasad Chaliha 28 Dec 1957 06 Nov 1970 INC
20 Bishnu Ram Medhi 09 Aug 1950 27 Dec 1957 INC
21 Gopinath Bordoloi 11 Feb 1946 06 Aug 1950 INC

Quiz on Chief Ministers of Assam 

Dive into the captivating world of Assam's political history with our curated quiz on Chief Ministers. As you explore the lives and contributions of these dynamic leaders, you'll uncover the stories that have shaped this vibrant northeastern state. From the pioneering days of Gopinath Bordoloi to the transformative leadership of Tarun Gogoi and the current initiatives under Sarbananda Sonowal, this quiz will take you on a journey through Assam's political landscape. Test your knowledge, challenge your friends, and discover the unique tales of leadership that have left an indelible mark on Assam's destiny.



play quiz