List of Chief Ministers of Andhra Pradesh

  • 03 September, 2023
  • By GyanOK

Select Language

List of all the Chief Ministers of Andhra Pradesh

Chief Ministers are vital for a country's functioning. They lead states, impacting progress through policies and decisions. K. Kamaraj revolutionized education in Tamil Nadu; N. T. Rama Rao advanced Andhra Pradesh's agriculture. Y. S. Jaganmohan Reddy's modern governance focuses on welfare. Chief Ministers drive a nation's growth. Check out Andhra Pradesh's Chief Ministers list below and test your knowledge with our quiz!

List of Chief Ministers of Andhra Pradesh

Situated along India's southeastern coast, Andhra Pradesh is a state packed with history and culture. The way the state has been ruled by different leaders has a huge impact on how it looks today. From way back in time to the present, various leaders have influenced the state's journey, leaving their mark on its identity.

When you look at the past, Andhra Pradesh has been through a lot – different dynasties and rulers have all played their part in making the state what it is. But after India gained independence, things really started to shape up. Leaders came forward who helped the state grow and develop in various ways.

Over time, Andhra Pradesh has had lots of leaders, each with their own ideas and plans for the state. Some, like N.T. Rama Rao, made people proud of their region and introduced some cool changes. Others focused on things like making the state's industries better and helping the people with education and other stuff.

However, having so many different leaders hasn't always been smooth sailing. Sometimes, when leadership changes or political ideas shift, it can impact how things get done. The state's progress can go up and down depending on who's in charge and what they believe in. 

Following we have provided a list of all the chief ministers of Andhra Pradesh. 

Sl.No Chief Minister From To Party Name
1 Y. S. Jaganmohan Reddy 30 May 2019 Present YSR Congress Party
2 N. Chandrababu Naidu 08 Jun 2014 29 May 2019 Telugu Desam Party
3 President's rule 01 Mar 2014 08 Jun 2014 N/A
4 N. Kiran Kumar Reddy 25 Nov 2010 01 Mar 2014 INC
5 K. Rosaiah 03 Sep 2009 24 Nov 2010 INC
6 Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy 14 May 2004 02 Sep 2009 INC
7 N. Chandrababu Naidu 01 Sep 1995 14 May 2004 Telugu Desam Party
8 N. T. Rama Rao 12 Dec 1994 01 Sep 1995 Telugu Desam Party
9 Kotla Vijaya Bhaskara Reddy 09 Oct 1992 12 Dec 1994 INC
10 N. Janardhana Reddy 17 Dec 1990 09 Oct 1992 INC
11 Marri Chenna Reddy 03 Dec 1989 17 Dec 1990 INC
12 N. T. Rama Rao 16 Sep 1984 02 Dec 1989 Telugu Desam Party
13 Nadendla Bhaskara Rao 16 Aug 1984 16 Sep 1984 Telugu Desam Party
14 N. T. Rama Rao 09 Jan 1983 16 Aug 1984 Telugu Desam Party
15 Kotla Vijaya Bhaskara Reddy 20 Sep 1982 09 Jan 1983 INC
16 Bhavanam Venkatarami Reddy 24 Feb 1982 20 Sep 1982 INC
17 Tanguturi Anjaiah 11 Oct 1980 24 Feb 1982 INC
18 Marri Chenna Reddy 06 Mar 1978 11 Oct 1980 INC
19 Jalagam Vengala Rao 10 Dec 1973 06 Mar 1978 INC
20 President's rule 11 Jan 1973 10 Dec 1973 N/A
21 P. V. Narasimha Rao 30 Sep 1971 10 Jan 1973 INC
22 Kasu Brahmananda Reddy 21 Feb 1964 30 Sep 1971 INC
23 Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 12 Mar 1962 20 Feb 1964 INC
24 Damodaram Sanjivayya 11 Jan 1960 12 Mar 1962 INC
25 Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 01 Nov 1956 11 Jan 1960 INC


Quiz on Chief Ministers of Andhra Pradesh 

Explore the fascinating political history of Andhra Pradesh's chief ministers! Test your knowledge with our interactive quiz that covers visionary leaders, transformative policies, and the state's dynamic journey. Whether you're a history enthusiast or simply curious, this quiz is designed for easy understanding and enjoyment. Step into the world of Andhra Pradesh's governance and leadership - take the quiz today and uncover the stories that have shaped the state's history!



play quiz