List of Chief Ministers of Uttarakhand

  • 03 September, 2023
  • By GyanOK

Select Language

List of all the Chief Ministers of Uttarakhand

Chief ministers play a pivotal role in governing a state, steering policies, and ensuring the well-being of its people. They make crucial decisions that shape education, healthcare, infrastructure, and more. This article illuminates the significance of chief ministers in state governance. Additionally, it provides a comprehensive list of all the chief ministers of Uttarakhand, offering insight into their leadership and contributions. Explore the dynamic leadership journey of Uttarakhand's chief ministers and gain a deeper understanding of the state's development through their impactful initiatives and decisions.

List of Chief Ministers of Uttarakhand 

Uttarakhand, nestled in the Himalayas, is a north Indian state known for its natural beauty and rich cultural heritage. Established in 2000, it embodies a democratic form of government where people elect their representatives to make decisions for the welfare of the state. Chief ministers, the highest-ranking officials, hold the responsibility of governing and implementing policies. Over the years, Uttarakhand has seen several chief ministers, each leaving their mark by addressing regional challenges, promoting development, and preserving the environment. Their leadership has influenced education, healthcare, infrastructure, and tourism, shaping the state's progress and enhancing the lives of its residents.

Following is the list of all the chief ministers of Uttarakhand in a tabular format. 

Portrait Name Constituency Term of Office Assembly (Election) Party
1 Nityanand Swami MLC 9 Nov 2000 - 29 Oct 2001 Interim BJP
2 Bhagat Singh Koshyari MLC 30 Oct 2001 - 1 Mar 2002    BJP
3 N. D. Tiwari Ramnagar 2 Mar 2002 - 7 Mar 2007 1st (2002) INC
4 B. C. Khanduri Dhumakot 7 Mar 2007 - 26 Jun 2009 2nd (2007) BJP
5 Ramesh Pokhriyal Thalisain 27 Jun 2009 - 10 Sep 2011    BJP
4 B. C. Khanduri Dhumakot 11 Sep 2011 - 13 Mar 2012    BJP
6 Vijay Bahuguna Sitarganj 13 Mar 2012 - 31 Jan 2014 3rd (2012) INC
7 Harish Rawat Dharchula 1 Feb 2014 - 27 Mar 2016    INC
-- Vacant (President's rule) N/A 27 Mar 2016 - 21 Apr 2016    
7 Harish Rawat Dharchula 21 Apr 2016 - 22 Apr 2016    INC
-- Vacant (President's rule) N/A 22 Apr 2016 - 11 May 2016    
7 Harish Rawat Dharchula 11 May 2016 - 18 Mar 2017    INC
8 Trivendra Singh Rawat Doiwala 18 Mar 2017 - 10 Mar 2021 4th (2017) BJP
9 Tirath Singh Rawat N/A 10 Mar 2021 - 4 Jul 2021   BJP
10 Pushkar Singh Dhami Khatima 4 Jul 2021 - 23 Mar 2022 5th (2022)  BJP
-- Pushkar Singh Dhami Champawat 23 Mar 2022 - Incumbent   BJP

Quiz on Chief Ministers of Uttarakhand

Discover Uttarakhand's leadership legacy by learning about the leaders who shaped the state Try our fun quiz to learn about the Chief Ministers who guided Uttarakhand's journey. See how they made a difference and learn interesting facts. It's not just a quiz, but a way to know the people who led Uttarakhand. Challenge yourself, learn, and enjoy exploring the state's history together. Ready for the adventure? Take the quiz now!




play quiz