List of Chief Ministers of Gujarat

  • 03 September, 2023
  • By GyanOK

Select Language

List of all the Chief Ministers of Gujarat

Chief ministers play a pivotal role in governing a state, driving its growth, and addressing its challenges. They formulate policies, make crucial decisions, and oversee various sectors to ensure the well-being of citizens. This article showcases the list of all the chief ministers of Gujarat, highlighting their diverse contributions and leadership styles that have shaped the state's trajectory. Delve into the rich political history of Gujarat and witness how these leaders have left their mark on the state's development. Explore their legacies and understand the dynamic role chief ministers play in the governance of a state.

List of Chief Ministers of Guajrat

Gujarat, a western Indian state, holds a prominent position in the country's political landscape. With a vibrant history and diverse culture, Gujarat is known for its industrial and economic prowess. The state follows a democratic system, with elected representatives governing through periodic elections. Over the years, Gujarat has seen a number of chief ministers who have significantly impacted its development. These leaders have introduced policies for economic growth, infrastructure development, social welfare, and more. Their diverse approaches have shaped the state's trajectory and left a lasting imprint. This article presents the complete list of chief ministers of Gujarat, offering insights into their contributions and how they've influenced the state's progress.

We have made a list of all the Chief Ministers of Gujrat in a tabular format as per your convenience. 

S.No. Name of the Chief Minister Constituency Term of Office Assembly (Elections) Party
1 Jivraj Narayan Mehta Amreli 1 May 1960 - 3 March 1962 1st/Interim Indian National Congress
2 Balwantrai Mehta Bhavnagar 25 February 1963 - 19 September 1965 2nd -
3 Hitendra Kanaiyalal Desai Olpad 19 September 1965 - 12 May 1971 3rd Congress (April1967-Oct1969) [4] Indian National Congress (O) (Oct1969-May1971)
4 Ghanshyam Oza Dahegam 17 March 1972 - 17 July 1973 4th Indian National Congress
5 Chimanbhai Patel Sankheda 17 July 1973 - 9 February 1974 5th -
6 Babubhai Patel Sabarmati 18 June 1975 - 12 March 1976 6th Indian National Congress (O)
7 Madhav Singh Solanki Bhadran 24 December 1976 - 6 July 1980 7th Indian National Congress
8 Amarsinh Chaudhary Vyara 6 July 1985 - 9 December 1989 8th Indian National Congress
9 Chhabildas Mehta Mahuva 17 February 1994 - 13 March 1995 9th -
10 Keshubhai Patel Visavadar 14 March 1995 - 21 October 1995 10th Bharatiya Janata Party
11 Suresh Mehta Mandvi 21 October 1995 - 19 September 1996 11th -
12 Shankersinh Vaghela Radhanpur 23 October 1996 - 27 October 1997 - Rashtriya Janata Party
13 Dilip Parikh Dhandhuka 28 October 1997 - 4 March 1998 10th -
14 Narendra Modi Rajkot II Maninagar 7 October 2001 - 22 December 2012 11th, 12th, 13th -
15 Anandiben Patel Ghatlodia 22 May 2014 - 7 August 2016 14th -
16 Vijay Rupani Rajkot West 7 August 2016 - 26 December 2017 14th -
17 Bhupendrabhai Patel Ghatlodia 13 September 2021 - Incumbent 15th -

Quiz on Chief Ministers of Gujarat

Are you intrigued by the dynamic history of Gujarat's leadership? Discover the captivating journey of its chief ministers through an engaging quiz! Test your knowledge about the influential figures who have shaped the state's destiny. From the visionary Jivraj Narayan Mehta to the transformative Narendra Modi, this quiz will take you on a fascinating ride through Gujarat's political landscape. Challenge yourself, have fun, and learn about the leaders who have left an indelible mark on the state. Don't miss this chance to explore the legacy of Gujarat's chief ministers and see how much you know about their contributions!


play quiz