• 29 November 2022
  • By GyanOk

Daily Current Affairs Notes for 29 November 2022

International Day of Solidarity with the Palestinian People 2022: 29 November


International Day of Solidarity with the Palestinian People 2022:

November 29 is marked as the International Day of Solidarity with Palestinian People every year. Since 1978, the United Nations has commemorated the day as a way to express solidarity with the people of Palestine while the peace and resolution process remains stalled. The day aims to spread more awareness about the issues faced by the Palestinian people along with promoting a peaceful Palestine-Israel resolution.

International Day of Solidarity with the Palestinian People: Significance

Today around 4.75 million Palestinians are spread across the Gaza Strip and the West Bank. These individuals live in poor conditions with a lack of proper sanitation, education, power and water. Individuals also live under the constant threat of Israeli counter-insurgency attacks. These attacks further galvanize youth in the area towards extremist organisations fuelling the cycle of violence in the area.

The International Day of Solidarity with Palestinian People hopes to galvanise people into finding a permanent and peaceful resolution to the Israel-Palestine conflict where the Palestinian people are able to have national sovereignty.

International Day of Solidarity with the Palestinian People: History

In 1977, the General Assembly called for the annual observance of 29 November as the International Day of Solidarity with the Palestinian People. On that day, in 1947, the Assembly adopted the resolution on the partition of Palestine (resolution 181 (II)).

On 1 December 2005, the Assembly requested the Committee on the Exercise of the Inalienable Rights of the Palestinian People and the Division for Palestinian Rights, as part of the observance of the International Day of Solidarity with the Palestinian People on 29 November, to continue to organize an annual exhibit on Palestinian rights or a cultural event in cooperation with the Permanent Observer Mission of Palestine to the UN.

The resolution on the observance of the International Day of Solidarity with the Palestinian People also encourages Member States to continue to give the widest support and publicity to the observance of the Day of Solidarity.

Sangeet Natak Akademi announces winners for the years 2019, 2020 and 2021


Sangeet Natak Akademi Award 2019, 2020 and 2021:

The Sangeet Natak Akademi has announced 128 winners of the Sangeet Natak Akademi Award (Akademi Puraskar) for the years 2019, 2020 and 2021 for their significant contribution to the fields of music, dance, theatre, traditional/folk/tribal music/dance/theatre, puppetry and contribution/scholarship in the performing arts. The General Council of the Akademi also announced 10 eminent personalities in the field of performing arts as Akademi Fellows. While the winners of the Akademi Puruskar will receive a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh, Akademi fellows will get Rs 3 lakh each and both will also receive a tamrapatra and angavastram.

Sangeet Natak Akademi Award: 

  • Among the Akademi Fellows are Bharatnatyam exponent Saroja Vaidyanathan, Kerala-based Kathakali dancer Sadanam Krishnan Kutty, Manipuri dancer Darshana Jhaveri, Banaras-based Hindustani classical vocalist Chhannulal Mishra, Carnatic music clarinet player A.K.C Natarajan, Hindustani classical singer of Gwalior gharana Malini Rajurkar, two-time Grammy nominee and tabla maestro Swapan Chaudhuri and Cochin-based Hindustani and Carnatic music vocalist T. V. Gopalakrishnan, among others. With these 10 new Akademi Fellows, the tally of fellows has increased to 39.
  • Apart from these, the Akademi has also announced the names of 86 artists from the field of the performing arts who have won the one-time Sangeet Natak Akademi Amrit Award under Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav (AKAM), which commemorates 75 years of India’s independence. These include artists above the age of 75 years who haven’t been accorded any national honour in their career. These artists will receive a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh.
  • Additionally, the Akademi also announced the names of 102 artists for the Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar for the years 2019, 2020, and 2021. These artists are below the age of 40 years. The Ustad Bismillah Khan Yuva Puraskar identifies and encourages outstanding young talents in diverse fields of performing arts and gives them national recognition so that they may work with greater commitment and dedication in their chosen fields. The Akademi seems to have ensured adequate representation in the winners’ list with 19 artists from the North East. These artists will receive a cash prize of Rs. 25,000.


Bangladesh film ‘Agantuk’ wins Prasad DI award at the Film Bazaar section of the IFFI

Bangladesh film 'Agantuk' wins Prasad DI award at the Film Bazaar section of the IFFI_40.1

The 5-day long Film Bazaar concluded at the International Film Festival of India (IFFI) in Goa with Bangladesh feature film ‘Agantuk’ being named the winner of the Prasad DI award. The Biplob Sarkar-directed movie was screened in the Viewing Room section, which presents Indian and South Asian films looking for film festivals, world sales, distribution partners and also finishing funds.

Other Awardees:

  • From the Work in Progress (WIP) Lab section of Film Bazaar, the Kannada film ‘Mithya’ bagged the Prasad Post-production award, while the multilingual Nepali, Kumaoni, and Hindi film ‘Bahadur’ won the Moviebuff Appreciation Award.
  • Two short movies, ‘Perianayaki’ by Bala Murali Shingade and Suchana Saha’s animated film ‘Priyo Ami’, received the under the “Film Bazaar Recommends (FBR) ” category. The French Institute Award by the French Embassy was given to ‘Kissa – E – Circus’ by Savita Singh which was showcased in the co-production market.

About the Film Bazaar:

Film Bazaar is a converging point for film buyers and sellers from all across the world with a focus on discovering, supporting, and showcasing South Asian content and talent in filmmaking, production, and distribution. It offers filmmakers a unique platform to introduce their work and discuss in depth the topics depicted in their films.


Dr. Sanjeev Kumar Balyan Conferred National Gopal Ratna Award

Union Minister Sanjeev Balyan Controversila remarks against JNU Jamia at  Meerut watch Video - JNU-जामिया में पश्चिमी यूपी को 10% आरक्षण दीजिए, सबका  इलाज कर देंगे: संजीव बालियान

Union Minister of State for Animal Husbandry, Fisheries, and Dairying Dr. Sanjeev Kumar Balyan conferred the National Gopal Ratna Award to the farmers, Cooperatives, and technicians involved in Artificial Insemination for their exemplary contribution towards milk production in India.

Dr. Sanjeev Kumar Balyan Conferred National Gopal Ratna Award – Key Points

  • The award was conferred during the National Milk Day event at Dr. Babu Rajendra Prasad International Convention Centre, GKVK Campus, Bengaluru.
  • India is the highest milk producer with a 33 percent contribution to global production.
  • There are 222 cooperatives in the countries with over 17 million farmers supplying milk.
  • The National Milk Day was celebrated to commemorate the 101st birth anniversary of Dr. Verghese Kurien, also known as the ‘Father of White Revolution.

About National Gopal Ratna Award

National Gopal Award is one of the highest National Awards in the livestock and dairy sector field. The National Gopal Ratna Award has an objective to recognize and encourage all individuals like farmers rearing indigenous animals. AI Technicians and Dairy cooperative societies, Milk Producer Companies, and Dairy Farmer’s Producers Organizations working in this sector.

Three categories of the Award

  • Best Dairy Farmer Rearing Indigenous Cattle/Buffalo breeds.
  • Best Artificial Insemination Technician.
  • Best Dairy Cooperative/Milk Producer Company/Dairy Producer Organization.